‘National Constitution Day’ Celebrations @ Greenwood Erragattugutta

Greenwood Group of Schools @ Erragattugutta

N0VEMBER 26th was celebrated as National Constitution Day in the school campus. The Department of Social Science organized an informative program to commemorate the adoption of Our Indian Constitution on 26 NOV 1949.

Click below link for more Photos


As a part of this event, an assembly was conducted in the morning. The teachers and students took a PLEDGE ON PREAMBLE OF THE CONSTITUTION. Neelakshi Tinge of 10th Edison administered the pledge.

Cultural Events & Educational awareness programmes were conducted in the school open auditorium from 3:00pm.

Honorable Director Sri. Dr. Girrem Bharadwaja Naidu was the Chief Guest of the programme.

Mr. T. Pavan Kumar, Administrative Principal and Mr. Phani Bhushan accompanied our Director Sir. The event was started with Patriotic song by Eekshitha & group of class 9.
K. Jhashmitha of 10th Kalam & Tanisha Dubba of 10 Edison anchored the programme.
E. Hasini of 6th Pasteur costumed as Bharath Matha.
T. Arun Babu of 9th Satish Dhawan gave a speech on the Importance of the Preamble.
Girl students of 8th class presented a skit on SECULARISM, which was an eye opener.
The Highlight of the event was the figure depicts of the major members of the Constituent Assembly by the students.

Students took part in Figure presentation with the true spirit of patriotism.

G.Rishi – 10th Aryabhatta as Dr.B.R. AMBEDKAR

L. Ayush Naik – 10th Aryabhatta as JAWAHARLAL NEHRU

M. Sricharan – 9th Nobel as Sardar Vallabhbhai

P.R.Akhil – 10th Aryabhatta as Baldev Singh

M. Adithya – 9th Copernicus as Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

K. Yugasri Bhavitha – 10th Edison as Sarojini Naidu

J.Siri – 10th Edison as Durgabhai Deshmukh

J. Bhuvana – 10th Kalam as Vijayalakshmi Pandit.

M. Amulya – 10th Kalam as Leela Roy.

Ch. Aptika of 9th Satish Dhawan gave a speech on Timeline of the Making of the Constitution.

Timeline of formation of The Constitution of India

6 December 1946: Formation of the Constitution Assembly (in accordance with French practice).
9 December 1946: The first meeting was held in the constitution hall (now the Central Hall of Parliament House The 1st person to address was J. B. Kripalani, Sachchidananda Sinha became temporary president.
11 December 1946: The Assembly appointed Rajendra Prasad as its president.
H. C. Mukherjee as its vice-chairman and B. N. Rau as constitutional legal adviser. (There were initially 389 members in total, which declined to 299 after partition. Out of the 389 members, 292 were from government provinces, four from chief commissioner provinces and 93 from princely states.)
13 December 1946: An “Objective Resolution” was presented by Jawaharlal Nehru laying down the underlying principles of the constitution. This later became the Preamble of the Constitution.
22 January 1947: Objective resolution unanimously adopted
22 July 1947: National flag adopted.
15 August 1947: Achieved independence. India split into the Dominion of India and the Dominion of Pakistan.
29 August 1947: Drafting Committee appointed with B. R. Ambedkar as its Chairman, The other six members of committee were Munshi, Muhammed Sadulla, Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer, N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar, Khaitan and Mitter.
16 July 1948: Along with Harendra Coomar Mookerjee, V. T. Krishnamachari was also elected as second vice-president of Constituent Assembly.
26 November 1949: The Constitution of India was passed and adopted by the assembly.
24 January 1950: Last meeting of Constituent Assembly. The Constitution was signed and accepted (with 395 Articles, 8 Schedules, and 22 Parts).
26 January 1950: The Constitution came into force. (The process took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days—at a total expenditure of ₹6.4 million to finish.)
G. V. Mavlankar was the first Speaker of the Lok Sabha (the lower house of Parliament) after India turned into a republic.
K. Snehitha & A. Abhilasha of 9th Satish Dhawan presented a Conversation on Sovereignty.
6th class boys presented a skit on Values and Principles of Preamble.

Excerpts from the speech made by our Director sir.

” India’s Constitution is the largest written constitution of the world. THE VALUES AND PRINCIPLES that are enshrined in the Constitution are the guidelines for the life of the people of India as it is a secular nation. It is really amazing that our Constitution was written in a short span of 3 years. I think no other country has such an achievement. That’s why Our Constitution became the largest written Constitution of the world. You the children, are the future citizen’s of our country. It is your responsibility, uphold the basic values of our constitution.

All the Teachers and Non teaching staff also participated in the programme.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top